Communicator of the Year

One of the most prestigious awards presented to an NCMPR member, the Communicator Award recognizes a marketing, public relations or communications professional at a two-year community or technical college who has demonstrated leadership in the area of college communications and marketing. Emphasis is placed on accomplishments within the past year.

The Communicator Award is presented annually in each of NCMPR’s seven districts, and district winners are then considered for the national award. The district Communicator Award winner will receive a full conference stipend for their registration to attend the 2025 national conference in New Orleans, Louisiana.


  • A nominee must be a member of NCMPR at the time of nomination, should have worked in marketing or communications at a member college for five years or more and should have demonstrated excellence in various aspects of the profession.

  • A previous recipient of the district Communicator of the Year Award may be nominated again, provided that the individual did not receive the district award the previous five years has never received the national Communicator Award. A new nomination packet must be completed.

  • An individual may be selected as the national Communicator of the Year only once.

  • Members of the board of directors may not be considered for this award while they remain in office. 

Nomination Procedures

  • Those nominating individuals for the Communicator of the Year Award must be a designated member of NCMPR or affiliated with a member college. A member college may submit only one nomination each year.

  • Self-nominations may be submitted for the Communicator Award with a letter of support from the nominee's direct supervisor. 

  • A nomination form must be completed online.



2024 Nomination Deadline: July 19


District 1:
Jonathan Fonseca, District 1 Director
Cape Cod Community College, MA
(774) 330-4651 |[javascript protected email address]

District 2:
Erica Marye, District 2 Director
Kentucky Community & Technical College System
(859) 256-3286 | [javascript protected email address]

District 3: 
Victoria Monterio, District 3 Director
Cuyahoga Community College
(216) 987-4826 | [javascript protected email address] 

District 4:
Matt Radcliffe, District 4 Director
Pikes Peak State College, CO
(719) 502-2022 |  [javascript protected email address]

District 5:
Kristin Kollbaum, District 5 Director
Northwest Iowa Community College
(712) 631-5634 | [javascript protected email address]

District 6:
Mandy Heil, District 6 Director
Arizona Western College | (928) 314-9594
[javascript protected email address]

District 7:
Marisa Pierce, District 7 Director
Skagit Valley College
(360) 416-7957 | [javascript protected email address] 

Connecting Community College Communicators

Membership means



  • Find NCMPR on Facebook
  • Follow NCMPR on Twitter
  • Follow NCMPR on Instagram
  • Join NCMPR on LinkedIn
  • Read the NCMPR Blog