Communicator of the Year

One of the most prestigious awards presented to an NCMPR member, the Communicator of the Year Award recognizes a communication professional at a two-year community or technical college who has demonstrated leadership in the area of college communication and marketing. Emphasis is placed on accomplishments within the past year.

The Communicator Award is presented annually in each of NCMPR’s seven districts, and district winners are then considered for the national award.


  • A nominee must be a designated member of NCMPR at the time of nomination, should have worked in marketing or communications at a member college for at least five years and should have demonstrated excellence in various aspects of the profession.

  • A previous recipient of the district Communicator of the Year Award may be nominated again, provided that the individual did not receive the district award the previous five years nor has ever received the national Communicator Award. A new nomination packet must be completed.

  • An individual may be selected as the national Communicator of the Year only once.

  • Members of the Board of Directors may not be considered for this award while they remain in office. 

Nomination Procedures

  • Those nominating individuals for the Communicator Award must be a designated member of NCMPR or affiliated with a member college. A member college may submit only one nomination each year.

  • A nomination form must be completed online.

  • Nominations must be submitted by the deadline designated within each district (see the list of deadlines in the right-hand column).

Get a Travel Stipend If Your Nominee Wins!

  • If you nominate someone who wins a district Communicator Award, you'll get a $250 stipend to attend the 2020 national conference in Orlando, Florida. 

  • The district Communicator Award winner gets a $625 stipend to attend the national conference.


2019 Communicator Nomination Deadlines

Nominations are still being accepted for District 2 through Sept. 6. 



District 1:
Eve Markman
Community College of Philadelphia
[javascript protected email address]

District 2:
Virginia Moreland
The College System of Tennessee
[javascript protected email address]

District 3:
Jeff Julian
Harper College, IL
[javascript protected email address]

District 4:
Natalie Daggett
Clovis Community College, NM
[javascript protected email address]

District 5:
Jeff Ebbing
Southeastern Community College, IA
[javascript protected email address]

District 6:
Jennie McCue
Saddleback College, CA
[javascript protected email address]

District 7:
James Walters
Skagit Valley College, WA
[javascript protected email address]