Pacesetter of the Year

The Pacesetter of the Year Award recognizes a chief executive officer at a two-year community or technical college or district office who has demonstrated leadership and support in the area of college communication and marketing. Emphasis is placed on accomplishments within the past year. The Pacesetter Award is presented annually in each of NCMPR’s seven districts, and district winners are then considered for the national award.


  • The chief executive officer or chief campus leader of any NCMPR-member institution is eligible for consideration. A candidate must have been employed at an NCMPR-member institution within the past 12 months.

  • A previous recipient of the district Pacesetter of the Year Award may be nominated again, provided that the individual did not receive the district award the previous five years nor has ever received the national Pacesetter Award. A new nomination packet must be completed.

  • An individual may be selected as the national Pacesetter of the Year only once.

  • Members of the Board of Directors may nominate their president or CEO for the award. However, they may not participate in the selection process.

Nomination Procedures

  • Those nominating individuals for the Pacesetter Award must be a designated member of NCMPR or affiliated with a member college. A member college may submit only one nomination each year.

  • A nomination form must be completed online.

  • Nominations must be submitted by the deadline designated within each district (see the deadline in the right-hand column).

Get a Travel Stipend If Your Nominee Wins!

If you nominate someone who wins your district Pacesetter Award, you'll receive a partial conference stipend for your registration to attend the 2023 national conference in Orlando, Florida.


2022 Nomination Deadline: August 19

  • District 2 deadline - extended to August 26
  • District 3 deadline - extended to  August 26
  • District 4 deadline - extended to September 1
  • District 6 deadline - extended to September 2
  • District 7 deadline -  extended to September 16



District 1:
[javascript protected email address]
Community College of Baltimore County, MD
(443) 840-5227

District 2:
[javascript protected email address]
Kentucky Community & Technical College System
(859) 256-3612

District 3:
[javascript protected email address]
Elgin Community College, IL
(847) 214-7769

District 4:
[javascript protected email address]
Pikes Peak Community College, CO
(719) 502-2022

District 5:
[javascript protected email address]
Northwest Iowa Community College
(712) 631-5634

District 6:
[javascript protected email address]
Orange Coast College, CA
(714) 432-5022 

District 7:
[javascript protected email address]
Skagit Valley College
(360) 416-7957

Connecting Community College Communicators

Membership means



  • Find NCMPR on Facebook
  • Follow NCMPR on Twitter
  • Follow NCMPR on Instagram
  • Join NCMPR on LinkedIn
  • Read the NCMPR Blog